Knox golfers take tops honors at MWC South


Ryan Meier, David Marquardt and John Hawkinson finished first, second and third, respectively, as Knox College won the Midwest Conference South Division Tournament by 17 strokes Sunday at Soangetaha Country Club.

Meier shot a one-over-par 145 to earn individual medalist honors at the two-day tournament. He opened with a two-over 74 as Illinois College hosted the opening round Saturday.

Back at Soangetaha, the Prairie Fire’s home course, Sunday, Meier fired a one-under 71. He edged teammate Marquardt, who shot a 149 (75-74). Knox finished one-two-three as Hawkinson carded a 152 (75-77) for third place. The three helped Knox shoot a 605 (304-301) to win the team tournament by 17 strokes……

Knox will next compete at the MWC championships, playing for an automatic berth into the NCAA Division III Tournament. The three-day MWC tourney will be played starting Thursday at Aldeen Golf Club in Rockford

Knox has won 19 of the last 25 MWC team titles, including the 2006 championship. This is the first year the MWC champion will gain an automatic berth into the national tournament.

Read the full story in the Register-Mail.